Bristlecone Mitts

Bristlecone Mitts are super simple and the perfect design to show off self-patterned or self striping yarn, which makes it look like you put way more effort into these mitts than you actually did. Not only is this pattern simple and easy, but it is FREE (click here for a direct link). No purchase necessary! This is a free pattern that I wrote for Cascade Yarns. Cascade yarns commissioned me to make this design to highlight their beautiful Heritage Prints sock yarn.


Bristlecone Mitts are the most simple design I’ve written, and honestly, I think they might be one of my favorites. This pattern provides two sizes which will fit most adult hands. And since the pattern calls for sock yarn, there is a ton of stretch to them, which makes for a nice fit. Personally, I love wearing these mitts for my cold-weather running – they are awesome.

Note about sizes: The mitts do have considerable stretch, the smaller size will be a good choice for most people.  I made both sizes, and kept the larger size for myself; they are too big.  I have medium sized hands, so that makes sense.

Finished Measurements & Sizes

S/M (M/L): 7″/ 17.5 cm (8″/ 20.5 cm) palm circumference.

Materials

  • Suggested Yarn: Cascade Yarns® Hertitage Prints 75% Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Nylon 100 g (3.5 oz)/437 yds (400 m) 1 skein (both sizes).
  • US 2 (2.75 mm) Double-pointed needles (set of 4) or size needles to obtain gauge.
  • Yarn Needle
  • 3 Stitch Marker

Gauge

  • 32 sts x 42 rnds = 4″ (10 cm) Blocked in the rnd in Stockinette stitch.
  • 44 sts x 40 rnds = 4″ (10 cm) Blocked in the round in 2×2 rib.

Skills Needed

  • Knitting in the round
  • Knitting and purling
  • Casting on/Binding off

Thanks goes to…

  • Cascade Yarns for commissioning this pattern for Heritage Prints yarn and for providing yarn support for this project.
  • Technical Editor Brittney E.
  • My lovely Test Knitters

I would love to see your finished Bristlecone Mitts on Instagram, twitter, so please tag it with #BristleconeMitts and/or #NikkiWagnerKnits. Please also share your progress and finished projects on Ravelry, I knit under the name NikWagner! And click here to find the Ravelry page for this pattern. Happy Knitting, friends!

